About Us

The Educational Technology Users Group (ETUG) is a community of BC post-secondary educators focused on the ways in which learning and teaching can be enhanced through technology. Our community is diverse and members include:

  • post-secondary professional staff (e.g. instructional designers, media developers, technical support)
  • post-secondary faculty and instructors
  • academic and technology administrators

We are affiliated with our educational colleagues in other sectors and welcome dialogue with the vendor community.

Our mission is to support and nurture a vibrant, innovative, evolving, and supportive community that thrives with the collegial sharing of ideas, resources, and ongoing professional development through face-to-face workshops and online activities.

As a grassroots group, ETUG has been in existence since 1994. This year we are proudly celebrating our 30th anniversary!  Our ongoing activities and events include:

  • Annual hybrid and online workshops held in the fall and spring
    ETUG hosts and participates in two workshops each year: usually a 2-day hybrid spring workshop and an online fall workshop.
  • Publication of a monthly community newsletter
    The ETUG Newsletter comes out once a month with announcements and links to recent posts on the ETUG site.
  • Networking on our new ETUG Mattermost community
    ETUG members participate in conversations on Mattermost, both in a general ‘Town Square’ channel and other specialty channels.
  • Networking on X (Twitter) @etug 

Our activities are supported by BCcampus Learning and Teaching.


The current ETUG Stewardship Committee members are:

BC Public Post-secondary AffiliationSCETUG Members
BCITBonnie Johnston, Bonnie_Johnston@bcit.ca
Royal Roads UniversityKeith Webster, Past Chair, Keith.webster@royalroads.ca
Simon Fraser UniversityKar-On Lee, cal2@sfu.ca
Thompson Rivers UniversityJamie Drozda, jdrozda@tru.ca
Thompson Rivers UniversityMelanie Latham, mlatham@tru.ca
University of British Columbia – VancouverRie Namba, rie.namba@ubc.ca
University of British Columbia – VancouverPaul Milaire, paul.milaire@ubc.ca
Vancouver Community CollegeAndy Sellwood, Chair, asellwood@vcc.ca
Vancouver Community CollegeJacquie Harrison, jharrison@vcc.ca

Supported by BCcampus

Britt Dzioba, ETUG Community Steward, bdzioba@bccampus.ca

SCETUG Members Emeriti

Leva Lee, BCcampus, kele fleming, UBC Vancouver; Gina Bennett UFV; Jim Bizzocchi, Centre for Digital Media; John BlackwellJacqueline Bradshaw, Langara College; Randy BruceIrwin DeVriesPaul Stacey, Open Education Consortium; Cathy van Soest, EdPlanner BC; Bob Clark;  Amanda Harby; and Patrick O’Brien; Amy Severson, JIBC

From the ETUG 25th Anniversary Conference – “Back to the Future”